A terrific World Cup

THE Brazil World Cup 2014 is over. After 63 matches and 31 days of competition, the 20th edition of the FIFA World Cup ended with Germany’s 1-0 victory over Argentina on Sunday July 13It was a great final match of the tournament. Overall, we were very happy with how competitive and close a game it was.

Germany won the World Cup for the fourth time in Brazil, 2014.

2014 FIFA World CupBut most of all, although routing for Argentina, we were most happy that the game ended on a clean goal. We did not want the game to go to a shoot out. 

This is Germany’s fourth World Cup title after defeating Argentina with a goal by Mario Götze in the 113th minute, after both teams drew 0-0 in regular time at the Maracaná stadium.

Götze, who came on in the 88th minute – substituted for Miroslav Klose – received André Schürrle’s pass from the left on his chest, planting it past Sergio Romero into Argentina’s goal. It was a lot of fun to see a twenty-two-year old score the goal.  The look in his eyes was incredible.

This was the third World Cup final between Argentina and Germany; the former having won 3-2 in Mexico 1986 and the latter 1-0 in Italy 1990 – with Germany now having won two of three encounters.

Mario Götze’s goal in the 113th minute brought Argentina to their knees and secured Germany’s victory.

It was Argentina’s third defeat in a World Cup final and their second consecutive against Germany, who have reached a record eight World Cup finals, and won four titles, including in Switzerland 1954 and at home in 1974.

Alejandro Sabella’s team played an intelligent game restraining the German machine – who slated Brazil 7-1 in the semifinals – allowing them few chances during the match, although a beautiful goal by Götze finally afforded Germany the win.

The emotional final, held on a spectacular sunny afternoon before 74,738 spectators, marked the end of the World Cup 2014, well organized by Brazil despite initial fears provoked by social protests.

messiScorer of four goals in the first three matches of the tournament, Lionel Messi started off well and though always posing a definite threat failed to make an impression in the knockout stages; his dream of matching Diego Armando Maradona was shattered in the final.

Despite Argentina’s defeat, Messi can leave the Brazil World Cup 2014 happy, after being presented with the Golden Ball, the award given to the best player of the competition. Messi received the award based on his goals and performances, which were most apparent in the group stages, surpassing other world class players such as Neymar, Müller, James Rodríguez, and his team mates Javier Mascherano and Ángel Di María.

The award for best goal keeper went to German Manuel Neuer, Bayern Munich who received the “Golden Glove” for his solid performance throughout the competition, conceding but four goals. 


Leave a comment

Filed under Soccer / Football

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s