Fighting talk: Maradona wants FIFA boss job to kick out ‘mafia’

"I am strong, they are not going to break me," said Maradona.

“I am strong, they are not going to break me,” said Maradona | Photo: teleSUR

(30 July) – “I am running for FIFA. Truly. I have to fight against the mafia. I have to fight the mafia that is still within FIFA,” said the soccer legend.

Legendary Argentine soccer star Diego Maradona said that players support his bid for FIFA presidency, which he said he will use to “fight against the mafia within.”

“There are players that support me, I have to fight with people that since long ago have been stealing from within FIFA. They steal with white gloves,” he said in an interview with Canal America Wednesday.

The election race comes as President Sepp Blatter was forced out of the organization facing allegations of corruption and financial mismanagement. However, he continues to head the organization until elections for a new president take place sometime in December or early 2016.

RELATED: The Owners of the Game

The former striker and teleSUR host said, “I am running for FIFA. Truly. I have to fight against the mafia. I have to fight the mafia that is still within FIFA.”

Maradona released a video last Wednesday in which he announced he was running “for FIFA.”

“I tell all the Argentines that I am strong, that they are not going to break me, that I am very tough and I have a lot of support. But careful, that when I come back, I come back with everything, I come back to work and come back for FIFA,” he said.

RELATED: A Pleasure That Hurts: Dreaming and Organizing After the World Cup

Tough-talking Maradona joins two other former players as candidates for the presidency of the world’s largest soccer organization.

French footballer and manager Michel Platini, who also heads up European football association UEFA, announced Wednesday that he will stand for the FIFA presidency, pledging to “give FIFA back the dignity and the position it deserves.”

Zico, the Brazilian coach and former footballer, has also asked the Brazilian federation to back his candidacy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Soccer / Football

Leave a Reply

